Love actually

So class is coming to an end. We are in our last couple of months. And I don’t say that as a figure of speech, but literally: two months left.

Where has all the time gone? Has it really been two years already? How did we not see that go by?

As we draw to a close and reality hits us, emotions are flying and most of us are in denial. We are actually supposed to think about and plan what we want to do once we’re done with this, but personally, I think if I don’t accept the reality then it won’t be so. Very childish of me, I know. But only someone who has been through this process will truly understand. This is not like going to 4 years of university, where you have peers your age and subjects you’ve picked and still realise at some point that you might have made a mistake and want to bunk classes.

The people here come from various ages and backgrounds, and of course we are not all BFFs with each other, but the bonds forged are not something I would have imagined otherwise. I’ve made friends with people I might have not even liked before, or just been acquaintances with at another time, let alone even thinking of baring my soul out to them at any point in my life. What I’ve learnt from this though, is that it is truly Allah Who puts the love in people’s hearts – there is nothing we can do about it.

وَأَلَّفَ بَيْنَ قُلُوبِهِمْ ۚ لَوْ أَنفَقْتَ مَا فِي الْأَرْ‌ضِ جَمِيعًا مَّا أَلَّفْتَ بَيْنَ قُلُوبِهِمْ وَلَـٰكِنَّ اللَّـهَ أَلَّفَ بَيْنَهُمْ ۚ إِنَّهُ عَزِيزٌ حَكِيمٌ

“And brought together their hearts. If you had spent all that is in the earth, you could not have brought their hearts together; but Allah brought them together. Indeed, He is Exalted in Might and Wise.” [Anfal:63]

 

I have never formed such a deep bond with anyone in such a short period of time before this, so I have a theory as to why we love each other so much, why we miss each other to that extent when the other is not around, and why we’re so attached to class. The family or yourself could be in a crisis but “I cannot miss class!” is said repeatedly in a frantic voice. It has nothing to do with the workload and everything to do with needing to be there – to see the familiar faces, breathe in the words of Allah, and calm the hearts down.

It’s the Qur’an.

When we get attached to the Qur’an, we get attached to the things that come with it, the people, the memories. Because they are all tied to our relationship with the Qur’an. They are inseparable. And it’s hard because that means years from now, if we are still attached to this Book by the fadhl of Allah, we will still miss those we took this initial journey with. But that also means that no matter how long from now, wherever we are, they will still be with us.

Certain surahs are special because I memorised them with someone; I remember liking a certain surah because it reminded me of someone – yes, it can do that too; certain ayahs stand out because of a brilliant reflection on it that someone mentioned in class, or it’s like deja vu to revisit certain surahs because I remember what was happening in my life at that time. It’s like taking a trip down memory lane.. And because Allah opened our hearts to let the Qur’an sink in, we are so much more absorbant of all the love around us. And so we love more.

So no matter where in the world I am, or whenever it may be, I know that they will always be a part of me because of that. But sometimes I feel like that possibility can break my heart because it would remind me of a time that was so amazing and so special – a time that I can’t have with me then. I know that Allah will help me get through it though, because the people in my life now are there for a reason – to help build me up for what’s to come, and by taking forward what I’ve learnt from them, I’ll always have a part of them.

 

Being in denial doesn’t change the reality of the situation – that is the sad truth of life. What changes it is how we deal with it. I have chosen to embrace each day, appreciate the little things, remind myself of why I am here, and wonder what I’ll do when I’m not. Life moves on and so must we, but the roads we have paved, the people we have connected to, the memories in our bank and the love we have shared will always remain.

One of the most amazing relationships you can have is with the Qur’an, but I never thought I would say that the Qur’an itself brings about unbreakable bonds in people. You just have to try it to believe it!

One thought on “Love actually

  1. Sakina Ali says:

    Subhanallah this really echos my own feeling.. jazak Allah khair for answering the question

Leave a Reply

